Home » Science Writing Workshops » Kozhikode Science Communication

Kozhikode Science Communication

Workshop LS from participants perpective

A five-and-half-day workshop on Science Communication was held at MBL Media School, Kozhikode, supported by Vigyan Prasar. T V Venkateswaran, Vigyan Prasar, and I have streamlined the workshop proceedings over the last two years. It is a pleasure to work with him.

Madhu presenting TVV watching

Biju Mohan, MBL Media School, has also understood my strategies and tried his best to give me time to interact with the participants before the workshop using Google Groups. So I could finish about half of the virtual course before we met for the workshop in MBL.

The output of the workshop, therefore, was quite impressive. Everybody wrote a piece each. And some of them were so good as to be worth publishing. I could use two of them in the column titled Science Last Fortnight in Current Science.

Now that I have seen the output, I am waiting for the outcome with bated breath. I expect that four or five of them will continue writing science.

To train people so that we have some forty or so good science writers in the country who can report science by this year end – this is the target.

1 Comment

  1. Interesting initiative! Today, we especially need better scientific writing skills in India with respect to the linguistic as well as technical expertise. There is a good amount of research that has to settle for journals with lower IFs than it deserves, just because the writing aspect makes the paper a bit less appealing. I, myself, am in the process of writing one and I know that there are many difficulties to be faced. I’m sure most of my peers would agree to this too. You are doing a great job by conducting this workshop! Cheers and keep up the good work…

    Like

Leave a Reply

